[<<first] [<back] [next>] [last>>] 31 Products in this category

Witt, Friedrich - Concertino for 2 Horns and Orchestra

Product No.:
ROM 325
Edition as:
Piano reduction, Product No.: ROM 325b
Orchestral Score, Product No.: ROM 325a
Orchestral parts, Product No.: ROM 325 ( + 25,00 EUR )
15,00 EUR
incl. 7% tax excl. Shipping costs

Friedrich Witt was born 8 Nov. 1770 in Niederstetten. At the age of 17 he came to the court of Oettingen-Wallerstein to complete his musical education. He was maybe a student of Antonio Rosetti (1750-1792).    

There is a letter at the Wallerstein archive that says that Friedrich Witt was employed since October 1789 for 300 Gulden per year at the court orchestra. He played the cello. The prince let him often go for concert tours. Witt was from 1796 for a longer in Vienna. 1802 the Würzburg Bischof called him court chapel master where he worked until the dissolution of the court music. Additionally, he was music director of the Stadttheater Würzburg. Witt died highly respected 3 January 1836 in Würzburg.

Concertino Eb major for 2 Horns

This Concertino Eb major for 2 Horns joins a number of works for solo horn, which Witt wrote. For Wallerstein horn player Zwierzina  and Nagel, he created three concertos for two horns, 1795, a concerto for horn came to the extremely demanding solo part was composed of Joseph Nagel.
In the collection of Wallerstein hornist Franz Zwierzina, which was purchased in 1858 by Prince House, finds himself, along with many other priceless pieces for horn, the present Concertino, now housed in the University Library of Augsburg. On the cover of the record "..…Componirt von Herrn Kapellmeister Friedrich Witt zu Würzburg“g". On the 2nd Violin, the entry "Concertino de Witt, F. 1818" and the title of the Basso, the entry "Concertino / pour / deux Cors de Chasse".
Maybe Witt wrote this work for the sons of meritorious Wallerstein Horn player - Joseph Alois Anton Zwierzina and John Nagel. Reported is a concert performance of the two sons in 1805 in Wallerstein with the Concerto for 2 Horns by Franz Anton Hoffmeister. The note about the year 1818 should be here be considered only as approximate dating.
The instrumentation of the orchestra tutti is noticeable that the second Flute was added subsequently appear to suit local conditions. So it is considered ad libitum.

Orchestral parts: 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 Bassoon, 2 Horns tutti, 2 Trumpets, Timpani, Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Basso (4/4/2/3)